Born in the Caul

Posted on January 2, 2010. Filed under: Born in the Caul | Tags: , , , , |

I attended a birth last night and the baby was born in the caul. I had heard of it and seen videos of it but never witnessed it in person. The mom pushed spontaneously and without instruction in the hospital (WOW) for about an hour. She squatted through most of her active labor and also through the pushing stage. We had the bed broken down and the squat bar set up and she used it with very little assistance. During the pushing phase she was very internally focused ad quiet. She was rhythmic and surprisingly quiet as she had been vocal through most of her labor. She just found her place and went with it, it was pretty awesome to watch. The nurse and the dad were busy entering admissions data into the computer, I was sitting next to mom’s bed on a stool and her best friend was standing in front of her. After a while, the mom reached down and felt and said “I feel something.” She had had a vaginal exam about 30 minutes prior and was 9cm so the nurse looked over very surprised. I asked her if she just touched the outside or if she reached in at all and the mom said she only touched the outside. The nurse pulled the big light out of the ceiling and the mom began another push. When the nurse shined the light down we all saw the bag bulging out of her vagina and could clearly see the baby’s head behind it. The dad was amazed. He just couldn’t believe what he was seeing. I put a mirror down so the mom could see too. The nurse said “yep, your crowning” and ran for the doctor. The doctor came in and mom was starting another push. The mom looked at me and said “It’s burning!” so I told her to stop bearing down on it. Then doc said, give me some little grunty pushes and when she did the whole baby, sac and all, came out all at once. The sac burst when the baby landed on the bed. She kind of just slid out straight onto the bed, the doc didn’t ‘catch’ her. The baby immediately started gurgling and crying so the doc put her straight to mom’s chest. It was a pretty amazing experience for everyone in the room.

The L&D nurse we had said that this was only the 2nd baby she had seen born in the caul. It is rare thought the numbers are conflicting. One article said 1 in 1000 births and another said 1 in 80,000. Being born in the caul is considered to be very special and has a lot of superstitions and myth behind it. Babies born in the caul are known as the caulbearer and THIS website dedicated to being born in the caul says this…

The birth Caul or Veil is a full face mask which may be sometimes found covering the face of a child at birth. Such births are rare and hold special significance for the child born in such a manner. There are many stories and myths about the Caul, many of them erroneous. This site is provided to give some insight to those who are born with a Caul and further promote public knowledge of the phenomenon.

The correct name for those who are born with a Caul is a Caulbearer. Such people are often referred to as being born behind The Veil, as the Caul is also referred to as The Veil in many cultures due to it being a face covering.

It should be noted that Caulbearers may be male or female and may come from any social class, racial or religious group. There are no geographical boundaries to the phenomenon. However it has been observed that Caul births do have tendencies to run in family bloodlines. Sometimes, but quite rarely, more than one member of a family–usually a parent and child–may be born with a Caul.

It has been calculated that Caulbearer births may be as few as one in eighty thousand births. However this does not necessarily mean that there may be one such birth in every eighty thousand births in a particular area or that there may not be more than one in any grouping of eighty thousand births.

The main reason why those born with a Caul were and are held in high regard is principally due to the fact that such births can be calculated in advance and the time and place of such births predicted. This marked the birth of a Caulbearer as being of particular significance, along with the fact that such people often had peculiar abilities in many diverse ways which were not commonly found in the general populace.

Caulbearers are often found to have ability in matters of finding underground water supplies, knowing when weather patterns will change, predicting when fish and other food supplies will become plentiful.

Many are great natural healers, which trait may be manifested by the laying on of their hands, or remotely from a distance. Many are considered to have great ability in matters of judgment and ruling nations and often possess insights which are difficult to appreciate by other people.

In many cultures the Caulbearers were considered to be “Kings by right,” due to the predictive nature of their births and their leadership abilities. This is one of the reasons why certain Buddhist groups, to this very day seek out Caulbearers to be brought up to become Dalai Lamas.

Throughout history the powers that be have repeatedly attempted to destroy the Caulbearers because they were seen to be messengers sent by a higher force to guide mankind in matters both physical and of a higher spiritual nature. In ancient times they were held in high regard for their knowledge in a wide range of disciplines, and therefore became known as ‘priests’ which originally simply meant ‘teacher.’ This was long before the notion of the religious priest was ever conceived.

The Caul or Veil is sometimes also referred to as “The Veil of Tears” due to the tendency of baser types of people to attack or even kill Caulbearers, often for no apparent reason — such as in the Middle Ages, when they were burned as witches and heretics, mainly by the Church of Rome.

Persons of negative character may often react to Caulbearers at a very subconscious level as they sense that there is something different about these people. There are many folk tales about “the curse of the Caul” which appears to come from the fallout of negative actions against a bearer of the Caul.

In many cultures around the world the Caul is more commonly referred to as ” The Veil,” and the word “Caulbearer” is the usual word in English speaking countries. However it should be pointed out that the word Caulbearer will generally not be found in standard dictionaries due to repeated suppression of the reality of such people as they have often been persecuted by those who wished to become kings by might rather than by birthright

Some famous people born in the caul include (I have not verified these, just found them doing a google search):

Liberace - American musician and entertainer
James Couzens - Industrialist, banker, politician
Queen Christina of Sweden
Frank Albert Jones - Black artist
Sigmund Freud
Napoleon Bonaparte
Here is a video of a homebirth in the caul. This video is pretty amazing and it is MUCH slower than the birth I witnessed last night so you really get to see what is happening.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

39 Responses to “Born in the Caul”

RSS Feed for Doula Momma Comments RSS Feed

Awesome! I dreamt that Eva was born in the caul, but my water broke during a cervical check about 30 minutes before. Still, I can’t help but wonder if it would have stayed in tact if I hadn’t had that check/\.

I thought about that when I saw this one born. I can’t help but wonder if it would have stayed in tact as well. It’s certainly a site to see!

That’s amazing… I’ll bet the statistics would be more like 1 in 1000 instead of 1 in 80,000 if there weren’t so many interventions… of course in my case, my water broke on its own, so no such luck here!

You are probably right Desiree.

Hi,

I stumbled across your article and wanted to shed some light on the authentic caulbearer…

Actually, as the article you provided pointed out, the caul is attached only to the face and head, and sometimes pieces are stuck to the shoulders…if the child is born inside of the entire sac, this is not a caul birth. These “sac” births actually fudge up the number of authentic caul births as they raise the numbers. True caulbearers are far fewer than one in 80,000! I have just learned this myself, as I had previously believed the one in 80,000 numbers as well. I have an RN friend of mine looking into the actual numbers.

I am the author of a novel about a caulbearer, entitled ‘Dover Graye’…my brother was born with the caul, as was a dear friend of mine, as well as my boyfriend. They all have extraordinary gifts of healing and clairvoyance. All interested in caulbearers are welcome to visit my website… http://www.dovergraye.webs.com

Please sign my guest-book, or start up a conversation in my forum!

Many blessings,
Shannon

Hi SHannon, I came across your comments after doing some searching.. Iwas born with a caul and have pretty good intuition when I listen to it.. it has saved my life and I have recently discovered that the patterns and images I see are energy.. I can see some pretty icredible things.. i was hoping to join your forum however the page keeps coming up blank…? Dean

My youngest son Kolin (for Caul) was born in the caul four years ago today. When he was born it was in the middle of a shift change and all the nurses came in to watch. For the next few day’s that we were there we had many nurses coming from different floors to come see him.Kolin has two brother’s and he is so much different then them.He is extreamly sensative and loving. He is my little King!

I am a very happy Blessed grandmother who had
a very special grandson born yesterday. 10-13-10.
he had a Caul or veil over his head.After reading all the different stories about it ,we feel really Blessed to have a child to come in the world with such special Gifts. I pray that I live to see this child grow up tosee what God has in store for his life.

I`m 39 years old and have found out recsently that all the light and images I see when my eyes are closed is Energy.. I was born with a caul on my face 🙂

I was born with a caul and I only found out a few years ago. I don’t seem to have any ‘amazing’ gifts but I do feel ‘different’ now and again. I read somewhere that some people born with a caul have a scar on their spine. I dont, although I have a small hole on the palm of my left hand.

There is a new website for caul bearers to join and leave their story http://www.caulbaby.com

I was born with a caul. I can admit that I have seen things, I have dreamt of deceased realatives before I was made aware that they had passed, and most of all I have had a pretty lucky life. I do believe that there is a divine purpose for those of us born with a caul, but what that is, only our heavenly father knows. He has marked us for a reason. I have always felt that my life has had a unexplainable purpose… something far too great to be explained.

of courser this birth was slower, anterior presentation. i never knew a caul was so unusual. have delivered 4 babies with caul. only thing i note is that its kind of hard to get open on occasion! cool video!

when i gave birth i had a caul and all 11 of my kids where born in there and know with my twins on the way i hope i can have them in my bed with a birthing pool

I WAS BORN IN A CAUL AND MY MOM SAID MY LIFE WOULD BE A VEIL OF TEARS AND MOST OF IT WAS.. I WAS OLD WHEN I WAS YOUNG AND NOW AT 72 TODAY, I AM YOUNG WHEN I SHOULD BE OLD. I HAVE SEEN ANGELS AND I HAVE SEEN EVIL, I HAVE SEEN DEAD PEOPLE AND AM VERY INTUITIVE. EVERYONE WHO MEETS ME THINKS I AM IN MY 30’S OR EARLY 40’S…I SEEM TO BE AGELESS. I AM DRAWN TO HEALING AND INFUSING PEOPLE W/ SPIRITUAL ESCENCE. PEOPLE WHO ARE TROUBLED, SUICIDAL, BROKEN, DEPRESSED ARE DRAWN TO ME AND FIND HOPE AND HEALING BY OUR FINDING EACH OTHER.

I was born in the mountains of Southwest Virginia, I was born with a Caul or veil over my face, I have the God-given ability to know events before they happen.

I had a my daughter 4 days ago on boxing day 2011, she was born under the vail.. she looked into the world through her water sac of course i never got to see being on all fours and in pain ..lol.

i was born with a caul ,and it been such amazing life for me i have vision that come true i hear & see things i have lots of dreams about stars and number when i was young i didnt know what was going on with me people treat me different it was hard for me to make friendsi can sense when something bad going too happen! i cant swim for nothing iam glad that God bless me, and iam glad that there is a web site that share people story like mine my life is wonderful and i believe my grandaugther had my trait it just the things she says and the dreams she have and the people she talk to that havent cross over and before my granddaugther was born i had a dream about her and she came unto this world just like i dream beautiful her teacher say she is too smart for her age and she is 6 i want my grandchild to be able to talk about the things she go threw i kept silent i guest i didnt want people too think i was crazy im 46 now in things are more powerful now but now i understand more!!!!!!

i was born with a caul. and i must say that life is much more different that what most think. the weirder part is that i am black and was born with a caul. my mom say doctors with too shock. mostly didnt know what to say or do. but i do get to see spirits, and see the future through my dreams “sometimes” when i pay attention to it. but babies with cauls have very special gifts and are very misunderstood at times. with such great power and leadership that most dont get. but we dont do it all out in the open. i am 19 now and decided to look up info about babies with caul such as i to see if i was too weird or too different from others. 1 out of 80,000 such a big number. thanks for this info doe. 🙂

but everyone who is born with a caul has a big purpose in life. if they know it or not.

I am so grateful for the information shared about babies born in a caul. In 1952 I was delivered by a midwife and I was told by older siblings that I was a strange baby because of the veil. They joked that they charged friends a dime to look at me. My mother spent a lot of time in mental institutions during my childhood because of the things she saw and spoke about. During the last ten years I’ve heard so much about caulbearers and now feel free at certain times to discuss it. If anyone knows of a support group for caulbearers please inform me.

My daughter Jenna was born on October 31st 1994.;she was born at 6.09 pm. They originally told us that our daughter would
have some type of retardation. We almost had an abortion if not fornansecond opinion at Johns Hopkins Retaliate Assessment Centrr. Thank you to them. She was born through induction, 11 hrs laborious. When she was born my mother and mother in law both said to each other did you see that I said what they said she was born with a veil over her face. I knew nothing about it till it was to late to ask for the veil. Now when she was two yrs old she gave directions to a friend how to get to her house and she was negress there before. We heard her talking to her dead grandfather then came out and told us things that she could not have remem ber she was to young but she said poppy told her. Could this be true with people who r born with the veil or as unsay caulk. Thank u. Cammie Brooks. cammieryley@gmail.com or cammie Thomas brooks on fb would like to know more bout itnthkw

My twin and i were born with this, but my mother never told us all of what we can do and see and predict! We wonder many times why we were the only ones seeing thing, spirits, feeling of evil thoughts from people we touch or look inot there eyes!!!! Why my mother never toldus allof it we donot know but we just found out all of the stories from strangers. I had an experince when my son was a child, i would never lock my front door after walking him to school! I did this again one morning and as i set on my living room sofa, voice came and said lock the door!! I jump up and surispe and thought “what was that” but i lock the door and i think it was not more then fiveminutes later a man came running with all of his might, he hit my door so hard he left a body print!!!!!! I call the please six police cars came out, but they could not find him never! If it were not for that voice i would surely not be here today!

Now I see why I have lived such a charmed life! And why I have always loved water! Shoretied in UK.

That is a beautiful video and a very pretty baby. My son was an ‘en-caul’ birth and completely born in his bag which did not break until his little finger nail caught on the fine skin which subsequently slid away. A wonderful sight as Mother Nature took over.

I was born in a caul, a home birth in 1965.
and on the 12/12/12 my first grandson, Eljay, was also born in a caul also a home birth.
Incedently back in 1989 just after the birth of my son, the father of Eljay, I got caught in a tidal undercurrent in Llandudno
and almost drowned, I always put it down to sheer luck that i was swept to a rock that kept me above water till a friend arrived, but, who knows maybe it was the caul thing.

I rarely drop comments, however i did some searching and wound up here Born in the Caul | Doula Momma.

And I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
Is it only me or does it appear like a few of the
comments look like coming from brain dead individuals?
😛 And, if you are posting on additional places,
I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post.
Could you list of the complete urls of all your communal pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or
twitter feed?

Thanks so much for this article! I delivered my son on 22nd April 2014, and he was born in the caul. I had never even heard of this before but the midwives were both extremely excited, for one it was only the second she had ever witnessed, and ironically my son’s birth weight was exactly the same as that midwife’s! It was a strange experience, more painful than my second child, but I think that was also because he was much bigger (9lb 14oz vs 8lb 3oz). I could feel the sac emerging but it was not as painful as the crowning of a head; then all of a sudden he was out in one small push, sac and all, which burst as it hit the bed. I am not a superstitious person, but I know my bub is special to me and if his peculiar birth makes him more so to others, well there you go! Thanks for the historical info!

I was born in a caul, My Mother always told me I was blessed. Im now 67 years old, Mother died last January aged 94, Just slipped away in her sleep. Through out my life I have had many experiences both good and bad, But have always worked them out, and gained knowledge from this. I enjoy life, so I do feel I have been privaledged, Never rich in a material way.
But rich in Life.

My parents have always told me I was born with this & it seemed significant to them for some reason. I never understood until now. Thanks for this interesting information.

My son, William, was born on Augest 17, 2012 en caul. According to the obstetrician it was extremely rare because he was a full term vaginal delivery. From what I was told by her it is less then 1 in 80,000 babies who are born en caul because babies born with the caul (which occur more frequently) are included in the statistics. It is even rarer for a baby to be born full term en caul, and rarer still through a vaginal delivery. When I have birth it was like the maternity ward shut down. It seemed that every doctor and nurse on that floor were in the delivery room as a delivered him.

my baby was born in a caul
and she is very special and different.
it’s a privilege to have had a baby with such a special gift and significant.

My maternal great grandmother, my father, myself and my granddaughter have all been born with a caul …

My maternal great grandmother, my father, myself and my granddaughter have all been born with a caul … All full term, natural births

I was born in my caul! I do have a question if I may. My son was going to born too with his but it was broken by the midwife when she spotted the anomaly. Now as this any repercussions on who he wanted to be an on instead who he is? This is doing my heading!!! Thank you

I had a father born with a caul. I believe the vampire myth. He was a sociopath! With no more psychic ability than my house cats. But he did like to brag about the damn caul and the one correct prediction he made at the age of six. I think this myth is a total bust.

My parents have always told me that I was born with it and it signifies luck… Believe me, I’m so glad to read this article .

I was born in caul according to my mum &dad,,,what I have discoverde about my self is that if something is about to happen i’ve got a dream the previous night or bad feeling of not feeling well.Every where I go people will recognise my potential other i’ll be a threat to them but if something was discussed about i would feel it but I cant explain how to the person who is not in my situation.

I was born on 06/06/1965;i was delivered at home as i’m from rural areas of Eastern cape.When i’m somewhere feel like going home i become sick when my dad was still alive he would take my caul grind it and put in water &wash me with it when i’m sick or home sick.

I was born with a caul covering the whole body and believe it or not I foreseen the evil future, I see if someone is going to die and how, its started when I was only 9 years old and I did not tell anyone because I thought it was just a dream. My advice if a caulbearer tells you something abaut your future believe and be careful


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...