My Lending Library

Posted on January 10, 2010. Filed under: Lending Library | Tags: , , , |

I thought I’d share my lending library list with everyone. I frequently loan out books to clients. Sometimes they request certain book and other times I recommend certain books based on what I have learned about a client. Sometimes I recommend certain books based on what is most important to the client or on what she is most worried about. I frequently give two or three books to a client and mark certain chapter that may be most pertinent to her and then if she wants to look over the rest of it she can. I also always leave a breastfeeding book, usually La Leche League’s Breastfeeding Book of Answers, at our last prenatal meeting.I have found this to be a very effective way of getting information out and I think (hope) my clients appreciate it. I always collect up the books at the postpartum visit.

Recently I have been loaning out books to aspiring doulas as well.

Here is the list. And yes, I have read them all.

Pregnancy and Childbirth Preparation

Gentle Birth Choices, Barbara Harper 2005

The Mother of All Pregnancy Books, Ann Douglas, 2002

An Easier Childbirth: A Mother’s Guide for Birthing Normally, Gayle Peterson, 1993

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, Ina May Gaskin, 2003

Spiritual Midwifery by Ina May Gaskin (Paperback – Mar 2002)

The Simple Guide to Having a Baby, Whalley, Simkin, Keppler, 2005

The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth, Heci Goer, 1999

The Complete Book of Pregnancy and Childbirth, Sheila Kitzinger, 2003

Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn, Simkin, Whalley, Keppler, Durham and Bolding, 2008

Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way, Susan McCutcheon, 1996

Hypnobirthing: The Mongan Method

Birthing from Within: An Extra-Ordinary Guide to Childbirth Preparation by Pam England and Rob Horowitz (Paperback – Jul 1, 1998)

Back Labor No More: What Every Woman Should Know Before Labor by Janie McCoy King 1994

VBAC

Open Season A Survival Guide for Natural Childbirth and VBAC in the 90’s, Nancy Wainer Cohen, 1991

Natural Childbirth After Cesarean A Practicle Guide, Crawford and Walters, 1996

Silent Knife: Cesarean Prevention and Vaginal Birth after Cesarean (VBAC) by Nancy Wainer Cohen and Lois J. Estner(Paperback – Mar 30, 1983)

Breastfeeding

New Mother’s Guide to Breastfeeding, Joan Yonger Meek, AAP 2002

The Nursing Mother’s Companion, Kathleen Huggins, 2005

Breastfeeding Made Simple Seven Natural Laws for Nursing Mothers, Mohrbacker and Kendall-Tackett, 2005

The Ultimate Breastfeeding Book of Answers Newman and Pitman, 2006

The Breastfeeding Answer Book, La Leche League International, 2003

The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding, La Leche League International

Mother Food: A Breastfeeding Diet Guide with Lactogenic Foods and Herbs – Build Milk Supply, Boost Immunity, Lift Depression, Detox, Lose Weight, Optimize a Baby’s IQ, and Reduce Colic and Allergies by Hilary Jacobson 2007

Baby and Beyond

Baby’s First Year,   Sandy Jones and Marcie Jones 2007

Your Baby’s First Year,  AAP, Stevfen Shelov 2005

The No Cry Sleep Solution, Elizabeth Pantley 2002

The Happiest Baby on the Block, Harvey Karp, 2002

Baby Hearts, Linda Acredolo and Susan Goodwyn, 2005

Caring For Your Baby and Young Child Birth to Age 5, AAP Stephen Shelov 2005

The No-Cry Discipline Solution: Gentle Ways to Encourage Good Behavior Without Whining, Tantrums, and Tears: Foreword by Tim Seldin (Pantley) by Elizabeth Pantley (Paperback – May 15, 2007)

History

The Surprising History of How We Are Born, Tina Cassidy, 2006

Doula

The Birth Partner, Third Edition: A Complete Guide to Childbirth for Dads, Doulas, and All Other Labor Companions (Birth Partner: A Complete Guide to Childbirth for Dads, Doulas, &) by Penny Simkin (Paperback – Jan 15, 2007)

The Doula Book: How a Trained Labor Companion Can Help You Have a Shorter, Easier, and Healthier Birth by Marshall H. Klaus, John H. Kennell, and Phyllis H. Klaus (Paperback – Nov 5, 2002)

There are a few more that I would like to add and there may be a couple that I have left off the list. If I come across any or buy any new ones I will come back and edit this post. If you have any suggestions for ones that I should add, please let me know. And if you have any questions about any of the ones on my list, ask away!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “My Lending Library”

RSS Feed for Doula Momma Comments RSS Feed

Anything under pregnancy and VBAC I could probably use. Didn’t read much last time except for What to Expect. Blah!

I think in your situation you should definitely read these:

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth (the birth stories can be a confidence builder)

Hypnobirthing (I really like the book even though I am doing Hypnobabies and not Hypnobirthing, this book is very well written)

Birthing from Within (this one can really bring peace to the whole process. I am not into the whole birth art idea but everything else spoke to me)

Natural Childbirth After Cesarean A Practicle Guide (the authors include their birth stories, if they can do it anyone can!)

Of course my local library doesn’t have any of the three books related to VBAC. Ugh.

Bummer! They are all a little on the pricy side as well. I think that if you can’t buy them all and have to choose one then get Natural Childbirth After Cesarean A Practicle Guide, Crawford and Walters, 1996. Or I could just mail you my copies and you can send them back when you are done. I know you are good for them and I don’t need them and I am not taking new clients so I don’t anticipate anyone here needing them.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

