Follow Up to Business of Being Born, looking for VBAC video

Posted on August 4, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized, vbac | Tags: , , |

I am on the email list for My Best Birth.  The Business of Being Born did a really good job of bringing about a level of awareness of the crisis in US obstetrics and I think that it is fantastic that the follow up will be focusing on VBAC. I hope that they shed some light on VBACs for the mainstream community.

I received this email today…

A message from Ricki Lake & Abby Epstein to all members of VBAC Moms on My Best Birth!


As many of you know we have been working on a follow up film to The Business of Being Born, to be released this fall.

We are deep into the editing now and are hoping some of you might help us out by sharing 
your personal birth footage and photos. Specifically, we are looking for:


1. Homebirth video footage
2. Birth video footage from anyone who had a VBAC.
3. Video of a sonogram
4. Photos of women recovering post-birth, looking especially unhappy or suffering.
5. Video footage of a free-standing birth center (exterior & interior)
If you have any of the below materials and would be willing to let us use them in the film, please fill out and sign the release form posted under forum discussions and mail us your footage by August 15, 2009 on DVD, mini DV, DVCam or any format you have, to the address below. Please do not send us your only copy as we will not be able to return the copy you send us. If you have photos (for item #4) or any questions you can email us at info@mybestbirth.com.

Mail footage with a brief description and the release form to:

Amy Slotnick
Business of Birth
15 W 11th St #3A
NY, NY 10011

Please note we will blur out faces of any doctors, birth attendants or people in the footage from whom we do not have approval.

Thanks for your help!

Warmly, Ricki & Abby

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Follow Up to Business of Being Born, looking for VBAC video”

RSS Feed for Doula Momma Comments RSS Feed

I wish I had video from my VBAC, but it happened so fast, I don’t! Looking forward to the VBAC movie.

I wish I had my VBAC already.. I’m excited for their movie!

Can’t wait to try to VBAC next time around!

I have an edited homebirth video from 2003, waterbirth, unassisted birth, that I posted once to Mothering.com and it went viral– in 5 days we had over 6 gigs of hits to our video and our ISP shut us down for a few hours until we removed the video LOL… it took a couple years before people stopped emailing me asking me why I took the video down…. 🙂

I also have an unedited homebirth video from 2006- also unassisted, not waterbirth though. I’d share them if you promise to blur my face. I will go try to find this release form you speak of…..


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

