The Six Care Practices that Support Normal Birth (Part One)

Posted on June 22, 2009. Filed under: Birth, Cesarean, Pregnancy | Tags: , , , , , , , |

Many of you know that I will training to become a Lamaze certified childbirth educator. I am hosting a Passion for Birth (PfB) seminar in Seoul in October. PfB is a program accredited by Lamaze that focuses on how to ‘stomp out boring childbirth classes.’

I chose PfB and Lamaze for many reasons.I chose PfB because I liked the way the material is being presented. Stomping out boring childbirth classes, that’s GREAT! How many of you have been to a hospital childbirth class that was a full day of listening to someone tell you about when to show up to get your epidural, what the hospitals policies are and how everyone is required to have this or that done to them once they are admitted? How much did you learn about birth? About natural birth? Normal birth? Did you leave more nervous the when you got there? Were you worried about your birth plan being respected? The idea that PfB has of teaching CBE’s how to teach evidence based care and to be fun and interactive at the same time really inspired me. The other reason for chosing PfB is Ann Tumblin. My husband ran across her when I was pregnant with my son. We were searching for doulas in Korea and her name came up as she has been here to train Korean doula instructors for DONA. She was really nice to my husband and he remembered her (and she remembered him) over a year later when I decided to train as a doula myself and looked her up. I was trying to find other doulas in Korea to learn from. She was just amazing with her advice and with how willing she was to talk to me about being a doula and a childbirth educator. When I found out she was coming to Korea again in October, I just HAD to see if we could have a PfB seminar while she was here. I can’t wait!

So with the PfB portion of the childbirth educator training in place, I really had to spend some time learning about Lamaze International, since that’s who my certifying agency would be and whose care practices I would be teaching. I was one of those people who heard ‘lamaze’ and thought of the old school hoo-hoo, hee-hee breathing that I saw laboring women do in the movies. I was apprehensive because I took the Bradley Method when I was pregnant and while I loved the classes, the amount of childbirth education I received and the relaxation techniques, I had gathered that Lamaze was considered second rate to the Bradley Method. Just to set all this straight now so there is no confusion, I really do love and respect the Bradley Method and even considered becoming Bradley certified but I didn’t go with it because it is more of a method. I wanted flexibility so that I can teach normal birth but not necessarily methodically. I wanted a birth philosophy that was in line with my own way of thinking. All that said, I remember my classes making me think that Lamaze was in fact some kind of patterned breathing technique. It was but in the 80’s they changed from a method to a philosophy and that philosophy spoke to me when I started digging in.

I have a very strong idea about what kind of childbirth educator I want to be, about how I want to teach and the way I want my classes to be. For instance, I want to keep my classes to ten couples or less. I would like for them to be in someones home, mine or one of the students. I want to develop relationships with the students and answer their questions honestly and factually with evidence based answers. I want to instill trust of the birth process and of a woman’s ability to birth into my students. I want them to leave my classes with the knowledge and the confidence to have whatever kind of normal birth they want be it hospital, home or even unassisted. I want them to know that they have choices and a voice in the birth of their child. I believe that with PfB and Lamaze that I can accomplish these things and I am looking forward to my seminar very much. I just hope we have enough participation!

The title of this post is “The Six Care Practices that Support Normal Birth”. These are the care practices that Lamaze teaches. They are:

1. Labor begins on its own

2. Freedom of movement throughout labor

3. Continuous labor support

4. No routine interventions

5. Spontaneous pushing in upright or gravity-neutral positions

6. No separation of mother and baby after birth with unlimited opportunities for breastfeeding

I labeled this post Part One because I knew it would get long. In Part Two, I will discuss the six care practices. Stay Tuned!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

22 Responses to “The Six Care Practices that Support Normal Birth (Part One)”

RSS Feed for Doula Momma Comments RSS Feed

Can I add to #5 that while Vertical birth is preferable pertaining to the laws of the universe, allowing a birthing mother to push on her side so she can snooze through contractions is also gratefully appreciated. I was in the most awkward position which I’m sure was the least conducive to getting a baby out but everyone let me be, just hanging out on my side; not that they had much choice as I was being slightly feisty…
Good list, though

Also, My birthing class had only three couples in it and it was fantastic. I think that’s a great idea to keep the classes small and intimate.

PAM! That’s what gravity neutral means! Side lying is the next best thing to vertical pushing:) It is totally not the least conducive, that would be on your back.

Oh, totally sweet! I win. Or, well, first I lose for not knowing that then I win for doing it even though I thought it was unproductive.

I agree with iwriteinbooks – pushing on your side can help you complete! This happened to a natural birthing friend of mine who was “stuck” at 9 cm for a reaaaaaally long time – she finally had contractions on her side and ended up pushing on her side! It worked! One contraction to a 10…

Read my response to Pam, ya’ll are killing me!

I think that is why I progressed a little faster once we got to the hospital cause I really just remember laying on my side and then having to push. I like these 6 steps, they are totally doable! and the three couples would be a good idea cause I know personally, I would feel more comfortable with a few people that I could get to know better. It may help couples be more comfortable to asking specific questions that they may have.

My pushing position is a question I need to ask my docs. For my last three I have been on my back. thanks for reminding me.

I learned something new today… I had never heard of side lying for pushing before! When I was pushing with Genna, (all of like 4 pushes or something ridiculous), the third push they told me to wait, because she was getting bashed forward against my pubic bone (Jeff and my nurse were holding somewhat upright – damn epi – that won’t happen again…), and the dr laid me flat on my back and made sure the bed was totally flat so gravity would pull her towards my back, and that last push she came flying out! I am guessing the the correct way to fix that would have been on my side, not back. That is good to know!!

It sounds like that worked so it must have been the right thing to do in the moment. The lying on the back and pushing thing is really about the whole pushing phase and not necessarily a maneuver, as in your case. What the care practices are targeting is the policy of putting women on their backs and keeping them there the whole time. Side lying may have worked for you too but like I said, in the moment, that must have been the right thing to do.

I was reading in Hypnobirthing today about the “Rebozo” method or movement where a scarf is used to pull the belly up and dislodge the baby from a bad position… sounded interesting and I thought of your situation!

I use the Rebozo with my clients and it is very effective at helping readjust a malpostioned babe and to ease back labor. I have often wondered if it would have helped us if we had of had a doula in early labor before he became completely lodged.

I had a bar that attached to my bed during labor and my midwife had me squat and hold the bar and push. And while it definetly helped, man it got tiring!! 🙂 I will have to keep the side pushing in mind!

Squat bars are amazing and I recommend them to my clients and even have the do squats several times a day to prep for it. We aren’t a squatting culture so it is very difficult and tiring for us to do, as you know! It’s a very affective pushing position since it opens the pelvis 15% more than no squatting but what a work out on the legs, right?! Side lying is very effective when mom is tired, hands and knees too.

I’ll bet the Korean mamas don’t have trouble squatting, lol! That’s the preferred style of sitting isn’t it?

Yeah it is! I don’t know often they use it in the delivery room today though but I am sure that a generation or two ago it was the only way they birthed.

OMGosh side squats are very tiring, but they did help keep my mind occupied for a while so that I wasn’t freaking out about the contractions. Plus, it helps keep you in shape:)and I do believe that it helped my son get repositioned properly.

I used the squat bar, but instead of squatting, I knelt, draping my arms on the top of the bar. It was SO natural and easy. As baby was coming out, I did have to bring one leg up (so I was in sort of a lunge position) so that baby’s shoulder could be maneuvered through. I squatted through most contractions, though, so by the time I was ready to push, squatting wasn’t an option! I was a “little feisty” as well- feel free to read that as “demanding”! The best part about not lying on my back, though, has to be that I never tore- hallelujah!

[…] The Six Care Practices that Support Normal Birth (Part One) […]

[…] by doulamama1 on July 12, 2009 In Part One and Part Two of this segment, I discussed why I believe in the six care practices and the first […]

[…] Part One and Part Two of this segment, I discussed why I believe in the six care practices and the first […]

[…] am doing a series on the Lamaze Six Care Practices that Support Normal Birth. Here are Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3. In Part 4 I will be discussing the 5th Care Practice, which is Spontaneous […]

[…] am both a DONA trained birth doula (CD DONA) and have trained as a Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator (LCCE). There is extensive training and worked involved in both of these designations, but especially in […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

