Finding and Comparing C-Section Rates By Hospital

Posted on June 14, 2009. Filed under: Cesarean, vbac | Tags: , , |

This website has links to Alabama, Alaska, Florida, California, Maine, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Texas and Utah for finding out c-section and VBAC rates by county and hospital.

I am originally from Alabama so of course I had to look and WOW what staggering numbers! The overall rate for the whole state for cesarean is 35%. The VBAC rate is a shamefully low 5%. I lived in Birmingham for the last 8 years that I was in Alabama and they have some of the worst with one hospital weighing in with 43.9% of their births as c-sections. This is 3 times the rate recommended by the World Health Organization. The baby factory, St. Vincent’s has an over 35% cesarean rate and only a 4.2% VBAC rate. It makes me so sad.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Finding and Comparing C-Section Rates By Hospital”

RSS Feed for Doula Momma Comments RSS Feed

Wow! Thanks for this. I am currently living 2,000 miles away from my hometown of Bhm but planning to move there and have a baby within a year or so. This is very helpful. I naively thought my big West Coast city would have a higher percentage than back home — good to know I am wrong! Thanks for helping me realize what I’ll be up against.

Beware of Birmingham. I used to work at a place where babies are known to come from, and they have a much higher cesarean rate than they claim. In fact, one obstetrical group does absolutely no vbacs. I had a patient once that had one previous low transverse cesarean, and she came in one evening in labor. She was 7cm dilated, contracting regularly, and the baby was tolerating everything wonderfully. They rushed her back to the OR before the baby accidentally came out of her vagina… no kidding. I understand that there is a hospital in Alabaster, several miles south of Birmingham, that has a much lower cs rate, and a higher vbac rate.

ANY INFO ON NORTHSIDE HOSPITAL VBAC RATES IN ATLANTA?

Howdy real alter website!! Man .. Pretty .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your parcel and train the feeds also…I am mitigated to act out numerous implemental substance here in the call, we’d equivalent operate out actor strategies in this tenderness, thanks for intercourse.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

